Video Compression

So, here's the problem: I occasionally record stuff with Fraps, but as you know Fraps outputs really large .avi files. After roughly half an hour of recording, I'm stuck with over 100 gigs of footage, but I still want to record much longer before using it in a video project. Since I'm terribly old-fashioned and only have a 500 GB HDD for storage, I need to compress this footage. However, because I'll be rendering it out again later (in a video project), I want as little quality loss as possible. (Because if I compress it now, then use the compressed footage in a video project and render that out, it will be effectively compressed twice and therefore there is some 'unnecessary' quality loss, right?)

Now, I'm a complete noob on this: I read some of Ross' and your forum posts on the new format for his videos, but unfortunately both that and internet sources such as Wikipedia do little more than confuzzle me. So I was hoping some of you might have some advice for me: which codec I should be using, which format and which video compressing software. Of course, since I'm Dutch, I don't really want to spend money on this : P. Any advice?

If you want to retain the best quality for further edits/processing then I would suggest to use HuffYUV 2.1.1 http://www.videohelp.com/tools/HuffYUV

If will reduce the data size to about 50% of the uncompressed RGB footage if you set it to "Convert RGB to YUY2". If will be practically lossless (only have the colourspace conversion errors, which you will probably end up with anyway subsequently downstream in your editing process). The good thing about HuffYUV is it is very quick in both encoding and decoding, so editing will be easy on your computer resources.