General gun info

I made this thread as a place for asking and posting any and all interesting info about firearms and their ammunition. This is meant to get these kind of conversations out of other threads, and to give a centralized place for the people to converse about it. Nothing political should be in this thread, that should remain with the Gun Control thread. Legality questions are not inherently political in nature, so asking what's legal in a certain area is good for this thread. Experimentals are fine too, I love them myself.

Just for reference, this is my personal gun, and a link to it's stats...

Ruger_SR40c_laser.png

*9-round magazine pictured*

http://www.ruger.com/products/sr40c/specSheets/3476.html

I am not an expert, but I love doing research into this subject, so I hope people will ask many questions. The only stupid question is the one you don't know and don't ask. (it's kinda stupid to ask questions you already know the answer to, unless you're confirming)

Don't insult me. I have trained professionals to do that.

Random question: the old PASGT vest, IIRC still in use with the National Guard, without plates. How well will it protect the wearer against pistol rounds, like 9mm FMJ? I've seen tests and know that it stops the bullets (bar repeated hits in the same spot at close range), but how much damage would the kinetic energy do? I've seen some contradicting information about this old surplus, and I'm just curious.

Edited by Guest (see edit history)