Birthday thread: Software

I was waiting for you to ask for someone to help you on a videogame or something! I could do that, but the graphics pipeline stuff is a lot lower level so you'll probably have a tough time finding someone who knows much about it. Sorry! If you have any idea of where to start with this, I'd gladly take a look, though.

Hm. That's a tough one.

I hope I might be able to help.

I'm an amateur JAVA programmer, but I do have some experience with graphics coding slightly (I'm programming my own game, I have to know some stuff).

I don't know if it's possible or practical to make a JAVA graphics wrap-around. But I can give it my best when I have the time.

If you want me to try, then just toss me a link to an old game that would be a good test-subject.

If JAVA is not a good choice, well I do plan on taking up C++ when I can. But that would be a long ways away.

Hey Ross, I might have a solution to your problem.

There is a totally free software avaliable called Sizer (http://www.brianapps.net/sizer/) and was the solution to this problem for me.

Undertale without Sizer:

9464b3be7d1ee12e8720257409a3a525.png

NOTE: there's no option to change resolution in-game

Undertale with Sizer:

99e23c455a13f9db442cce9a9b3ad24a.png

As you can see, this program can change all selected windows in your pc to a proper size without blurring the image.

I'm also using the Sizer 3.4 Dev Build 482 that you can find here: http://www.brianapps.net/sizer/sizer34.html

You click once to open sizer.exe and it stays in the windows' task bar, as you can see here:

5d81539d77fcbb1e5496276a4ef52ba5.png

Now the first thing you are going to do after open sizer is go to "configure sizer" and set some resolution entries for different types of games/windows like mine:

927d72f78e17faaa90b1b0e4cbaaa48a.png

i STRONGLY RECOMMEND, the ones that i'm using for windows (recomended to only 1080p monitors):

4:3 aspect ratio games: 1387x1040

16:9 aspect ratio games: 1849x1040