Rarity Rants About Games

Sign in to follow this  

So this is kinda an odd thing for me to do. I'm putting this in the gaming section but think of this more like a game related journal of sorts. Since I am a game designer (freelance as of right now) I'm constantly trying to think of new ideas, both story wise and gameplay wise, I can use as well as take ideas that have already been done and give them a new twist. Now I'm not gonna post on some of my better ones if I think I can use them (gotta keep SOME things to myself. ;) ) but I figure this would be a good thought dump from time to time. If you'd like to discuss any of the things I talk about feel free.

So I'm gonna start this off with the subject that inspired this, and that subject is about continuity errors in character backstories and how it ties in to gameplay and the current story settings. I've noticed how some games like to portray your character from the start as this really powerful, respected, feared, and/or seasoned warrior, soldier, etc. and then when the game starts you're character is basically a giant child with a weapon that they don't know how to use. I hate when games do this because it doesn't add up. If you're a war veteran with thousands of kills to your name, a squad of 5 people should not be much of a threat. Fortunately not a lot of games do this. in fact, most games come up with a somewhat understandable reason for feeling helpless as a supposedly grizzled veteran(some better than others, naturally)