Motivational help

Sign in to follow this  

Well, as some of you know, I'm currently studying to get into the gaming industry. The field I'm pursuing is level design which is a rather artistically heavy aspect. Problem is, when it comes to art, whether it be Photoshop, drawing, or building, I always have a hard time starting. very hard time, actually, to the point where I start to stress and fear I may not complete in time. Not only that, but I have motivation issues when it comes to the actual work. I'm fine when I'm working on something I find enjoyable but life isn't always going to let me do what I love.

So that's why I'm asking this. I want to know if anyone has any kind of tips, advice, or any personal methods they use to motivate them into working? I realize that not everything works for everyone but I figured I'll try a few and see if any of them do.

If you haven't noticed, I got some personal correcting to do if I'm going to survive in this industry.

Thanks in advance.

Retired Forum Moderator

yea, ain't life a bitch like that? well look man i know how you hate long posts so i'll make this brief for your benefit. i'm pegging your problem being attributed to self doubt; you question yourself constantly. there's really nothing wrong with having a high standard in your work, so while i'm writing i lie to myself, i say to myself "everyone will love this", or "Ryan's going to feel happier reading what i wrote" to a certain extent, i convince myself that i'm the best damn writer alive, why? i'd never survive if i kept thinking of peer rejection.

another thing i've done is make excuses, actively make excuses to put it off, i'm sure you do this too, i mean after all we're both humans here (granted though, i did replace your arm), so try to avoid avoiding behavior, idk offer yourself an award for doing it, i don't allow myself to listen to music till my shit's done. i love music, so yea, makes my project pretty inconsequential