Everything I Post/Say Turns Into an Essay. What Should I do?

Sign in to follow this  

As of late I've been noticing a particular habit in my posts/what I say in a conversation with my friends. I've noticed that some of my posts/conversations I unconsciously turn into essays. if I have extensive knowledge on a given topic I feel compelled to explain it in full and gratuitous detail. I always wonder if this gives people the impression that I'm a smarmy asshole and/or someone who obsesses over video games too much. I'm pretty sure I've scared some of my friends due to this. I won't go into full detail but basically at some point during several different conversations I've had with my friends they would give this sort of look of "Why can't you just enjoy the game for what it is?" or "Are you okay? It's just a video game". I know they mean well and they're nice people deep inside. But I feel like I've become disconnected from them as a whole and can no longer communicate effectively with them. Just one day(don't know exactly when) all of a sudden my vocabulary became much more complex. I honestly can't remember what it was like before. All I know is it wasn't as immense as it is now and oh look I've typed up yet another essay. Anyway if I can't relate my issues to you then I thank you for your time nonetheless. At least I always feel better when I express my problems then when I keep them bundled up.

I'm not saying I started the fire. But I most certain poured gasoline on it.

Maybe you should try this... if you ever want to really express your thoughts on something, write it all down. Then pick some key points, sum it up, and then tell your friends about it. Maybe? Or is that a bit too tedious? Probably. :D Perhaps you can try the essay writing in your mind instead, like... talk to yourself, in your mind, then share the main things that stood out? I'm shit at giving advice but I'll at least try. XP