The Little Things You Appreciate About Video Games

I find myself appreciating the little things in video games. As a game designer I know when things will be the same but when they're not I pay very close attention to them because they seem as though they were cared for by delicate hands. Whoever the developer was for the given thing had carved their own particular design philosophy into it.

* Leveling in The Witcher 3

Witcher 3's Leveling system at first isn't very notable at first but it's the way it was handled that really take it over the top for me. In the Witcher 3 Geralt only levels when something important has occurred and nothing else. So not only is it virtually impossible to grind, thus make it the same as many other leveling systems it also serves to highlight those moments. Every time you handle some situation smartly you feel it because you get more exp from it. Whereas had you handled the situation like a complete moron then you would be rewarded with similar exp and feel like one.

* Fallout 2's Combat

Initially I hated Fallout 2's combat. As I kept playing I got used to it but didn't love it either. Then the big moment happened, I had just acquired a new revolver from a person I killed earlier and I wanted to go see what this baby could do. So I went outside and aimed my revolver at some random thug. Now this shot had a 55% chance to hit as I was a fair bit away from the thug. But I took the shot and not only did it hit the shot blew his arm clean off for 74 DAMAGE!!!! My eyes were fixed on what the combat prompt was telling me and I was completely baffled at what had just occurred. I was thinking "There's no way that could be right" but then I realized that's exactly what happened. It was fucking magical, perfect and insane all at the same time. I doubt I will ever see something like that again.

I'm not saying I started the fire. But I most certain poured gasoline on it.

Skippable cutscenes