How to make a machinima

Sign in to follow this  

How do I make a machinima? I'm sure it's a noob question. But I won't apologize for being what I am! I'm here, i'm queer.. oh wait a minute.

Anyways, I'd like to start doing something similar to freemans mind pretty soon and I was wondering how do I exactly go about that? Could I just use fraps?

I'm a total novice to computers. I know it's a trend now lately for everyone to have some programming knowledge but I have zero programming knowledge. I barely know what data is. :lol:

So, I'm looking for someone to spell it out for me. I can point and click and I can follow directions. But I'm no where near intuitive when it comes to coding or programming. Do I need these to make a video similar to freemans mind?

Or would I be able to figure it out if I worked at it for a little bit? I am VERY intuitive when it comes to video games. But that's obviously not the same. Just wanted to make clear i'm not nor have ever been a technophobe. I'm just ignorant.

Software - Fraps, Vegas (After effects if you have a mac (meaning I hate you very much)), A game to record...

Console commands - Impulse 200 (Bound key), Cl_drawhud 0, sk_plr_dmg_(weapon)_(value) (Bound key, this resets on loading)

Machinima tips:

Don't upload it to Machinima...

Assuming you use Garry's Mod for machinimas, use gm_construct for Chroma Keying (greenscreen) effects.

I'll post more later.

Also known as "Username"

Machinima tips:

Don't upload it to Machinima...

Why not? Ross himself said he wouldn't of gotten as much exposure without them. I wouldn't upload maybe your first few machinimas to machinima (or atleast upload them to your own youtube account/link them to these or another machinima forum and see the feedback), but I wouldn't rule out uploading to machinima.com if you've got talent and once you got alittle more experience.

"Alyxx Thorne: Batman/10"

"HLPrincess: Also, I'm very proud we have Batman Himself on the Forum."