Let's see helious's ending already

(I was not sure where to put this, but this is related to the helious video, so I guess this fits in here)

I've been devoting a lot of time to trying to hack Helious II lately. I don't believe in the whole alien story, but the prospect of seeing the ending to a game that noone's beaten before gives me enough passion to continue. I have little programming knowledge or experience with hacking games, so I'm not the most qualified person to do this, which is the reason I'm posting this here instead of continuing to try on my own. I would try to beat the game legitimately if it didn't lag so much on my pc.

So far using cheat engine I found four addresses that relate to your health. I can't write them down here because they change each time (probably due to running the game in dosbox). Here's how you find them - enter a level, make sure not to get hit or waste any fuel. Search for the value '10' (make sure to select 'all' in the 'type' dropdown). Then hit some walls or whatever to waste your fuel a bit untill your sprite changes, then search '9' and click 'next scan'. The four addresses you're looking for will always have 'F1', 'F3', '85D' and '86B' on the end.

(This is not tested well, but I think F3 controls the size of the ball, while others keep track of your health in some way)

While it seemed easy at first to keep refilling your health to cheat through the game, it isn't. I have no idea why, but even if you change the value and deactivate the addresses, they keep springing back to the correct value and killing you. I think that indicates that either there's a part of code preventing you from getting your health back or I don't freeze the values correctly. I tried to disable the code that writes into these addresses, but that just crashes the whole game. If you have any idea how to fix this, please write in.