Religious Discussions Thread!

I'm not good at making new threads...

So this is where, with a respect for each other's beliefs (or lack of beliefs), discuss the huge topic of Religion!

So what do you believe?

What makes you religious or non-religious?

What do you think about other religions?

What are some of your good or bad experiences with religious people?

Again, please be respectful, I already feel like I'm opening Pandora's box.

To start, I try to respect other's belief systems, but that doesn't mean I won't try and give them knowledge of others.

I am a Catholic. This is a subdivision of 'Christian', but only since the advent of the protestant churches. (prior to that, Catholic and Christian were interchangeable)

I'll let others go from here.

Don't insult me. I have trained professionals to do that.

I'm a Christian, but I'm not the type to go around 'converting' people. I think everyone has their own beliefs and must be respected. You can believe in the flat-earth theory for all I care. :P I'll still let you think whatever you like.

I'm not hugely religious, I'm really an extremely casual Christian. I don't like going to Church, don't like worshiping or praying aloud. But you pick up a lot of kind motives from religion, and reading the Bible makes me feel quite relaxed. People say all the time that Science and Religion are completely opposite. But I beg to differ. You can sure as hell be a scientist and religious at the same time. Just researching and investigating the way the world works can strengthen your idea of there being a creator to all of it. My theory is that the big bang theory DID happen, but was caused by God, and kinda shaped around that. So, he kind of nudged certain events to finally create the beginning of man. :) Which is where the Bible starts off from. But that's just my idea. It combines what we know of today, and also the faith and beliefs of God, so win-win? :P