This website uses cookies, as do most websites since the 90s. By using this site, you consent to cookies. We have to say this or we get in trouble. Learn more.
I understand.
It is currently Mon Apr 24, 2017 4:05 pm


Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 5   [ 100 posts ]
Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Map of Black Mesa Research Facility
PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 6:22 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 10:38 pm
Reputation: -/+
I thought Freeman's Mind fans might find this interesting. I made it a while ago by pasting together the map sections in Blender 3D.

Image
Image
Image
Image

The map loses continuity at the point where Gordon gets clobbered, so the relative position between the two sections is arbitrary. Also, there is a transition between sections when Gordon is in an elevator, so I was free so select the vertical distance between the parts (i.e. the height of the elevator shaft).


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map of Black Mesa Research Facility
PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 6:49 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 11:17 pm
Location: Shrapnel City
Reputation: -/+
That's pretty awesome.

__________________

Beware the Accursed Queen
Alyxx' Game Room


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map of Black Mesa Research Facility
PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 7:19 am 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:25 am
Location: Portugal
Reputation: -/+
What would happen if you made that in to 2 or 3 maps for HL? Is it too big for the engine? Todays computers can have all that in their memory easily, so wouldn't it be possible to make a map with much fewer loadings?
Of course someone as definitely tried to do this before, but I'm curious.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map of Black Mesa Research Facility
PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 7:11 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:01 pm
Location: UK
Reputation: -/+
Raicuparta wrote:
What would happen if you made that in to 2 or 3 maps for HL? Is it too big for the engine? Todays computers can have all that in their memory easily, so wouldn't it be possible to make a map with much fewer loadings?
Of course someone as definitely tried to do this before, but I'm curious.


Well the Source engine has an entity limit, so linking them all together would probably breach that, and even if it didn't there'd probably be all kinds of entity conflicts and who knows what else to fix just from joining a mere two of the maps together.

No idea about the orginal engine's limitations and such, but the entity conflicts issue and whatever else remains the same.

It's an interesting idea though. Not sure how much point there'd be in doing it, mind.

__________________

Feel free to PM me about almost anything and I'll do my best to answer. :)

"Beware of what you ask for, for it may come to pass..."


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map of Black Mesa Research Facility
PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 9:48 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 9:06 pm
Location: Maple Waffle, Butterberry Island
Reputation: -/+
Raicuparta wrote:
What would happen if you made that in to 2 or 3 maps for HL? Is it too big for the engine? Todays computers can have all that in their memory easily, so wouldn't it be possible to make a map with much fewer loadings?
Of course someone as definitely tried to do this before, but I'm curious.

I tried to do something like that once with a top-down orthographic projection of all the levels in Half Life 2. (The level after Kleiner's Lab and the First trainstation don't match up) but as I progressed, Inaccurate scaling became an issue because the levels got procedurally bigger, amking scaling harder to do by eye. I got up to the first map of Black Mesa before an inordinately inconvenient computer crash got my Photoshop document lost.

__________________

"You can only teach as far as you've walked." - A.W. Tozer


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map of Black Mesa Research Facility
PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2011 9:58 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 8:22 pm
Location: Iceland
Reputation: -/+
It would be nicel if HalfLife could be made similarly to Dead Space 2, no loading screens are ever visible except when you reload a save or a checkppoint. I guess it is not one massive level but instead there is some kind of content streaming in the background.

But to be honest I find the idea of one massive level for an entire game to be mighty cool.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map of Black Mesa Research Facility
PostPosted: Sun Mar 20, 2011 2:43 am 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 9:06 pm
Location: Maple Waffle, Butterberry Island
Reputation: -/+
Bjossi wrote:
It would be nicel if HalfLife could be made similarly to Dead Space 2, no loading screens are ever visible except when you reload a save or a checkppoint. I guess it is not one massive level but instead there is some kind of content streaming in the background.

But to be honest I find the idea of one massive level for an entire game to be mighty cool.

Dynamic level loading I bet is something Valve considered a lot when developing Half Life 2 and found impossible or super hard with their system. Who knows, maybe we might see some kind of new iteration of it with Portal 2.

__________________

"You can only teach as far as you've walked." - A.W. Tozer


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map of Black Mesa Research Facility
PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 2:18 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 11:17 pm
Location: Shrapnel City
Reputation: -/+
We'll find out soon, I suppose.

I would actually love one giant game world with no loading times because loading tends to break the flow of the game. If we at some point can achieve more smoother ways of loading the game world, then I think that would create a more intuitive experience.

__________________

Beware the Accursed Queen
Alyxx' Game Room


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map of Black Mesa Research Facility
PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 3:01 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2011 7:04 am
Location: 38°16'48.96"N, 104°34'9.42"W - Don't forget to -rep me.
Reputation: -/+
Alyxx wrote:
We'll find out soon, I suppose.

I would actually love one giant game world with no loading times because loading tends to break the flow of the game. If we at some point can achieve more smoother ways of loading the game world, then I think that would create a more intuitive experience.

Wouldn't be as hard as it seems if you can manage to get the engine to load 3 maps in one go, overlay them, and load/drop maps one at a time...

Load map 1 & 2. When you cross over into map 2, it loads map 3. As you cross into map 3 it unloads map 1, and loads map 4.

Rinse and repeat. Easy to script IMO if the engine could do it...

__________________

bi ti ʤi ˈbulzaɪ
I don't suffer from insanity... I enjoy it.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map of Black Mesa Research Facility
PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 6:27 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 11:17 pm
Location: Shrapnel City
Reputation: -/+
BTGbullseye wrote:
Alyxx wrote:
We'll find out soon, I suppose.

I would actually love one giant game world with no loading times because loading tends to break the flow of the game. If we at some point can achieve more smoother ways of loading the game world, then I think that would create a more intuitive experience.

Wouldn't be as hard as it seems if you can manage to get the engine to load 3 maps in one go, overlay them, and load/drop maps one at a time...

Load map 1 & 2. When you cross over into map 2, it loads map 3. As you cross into map 3 it unloads map 1, and loads map 4.

Rinse and repeat. Easy to script IMO if the engine could do it...

I think that could be the future of FPS games.

__________________

Beware the Accursed Queen
Alyxx' Game Room


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map of Black Mesa Research Facility
PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 5:48 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 11:49 pm
Location: Memphis TN, U.S. of A
Reputation: -/+
OOhh. Would a download of the .blend file be possible? I'd love to take a look at this in 3D.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map of Black Mesa Research Facility
PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 9:18 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2011 7:04 am
Location: 38°16'48.96"N, 104°34'9.42"W - Don't forget to -rep me.
Reputation: -/+
Alyxx wrote:
BTGbullseye wrote:
Alyxx wrote:
We'll find out soon, I suppose.

I would actually love one giant game world with no loading times because loading tends to break the flow of the game. If we at some point can achieve more smoother ways of loading the game world, then I think that would create a more intuitive experience.

Wouldn't be as hard as it seems if you can manage to get the engine to load 3 maps in one go, overlay them, and load/drop maps one at a time...

Load map 1 & 2. When you cross over into map 2, it loads map 3. As you cross into map 3 it unloads map 1, and loads map 4.

Rinse and repeat. Easy to script IMO if the engine could do it...

I think that could be the future of FPS games.

That's the way World of Warcraft, Far Cry 2, The Elder Scrolls series, The Fallout series, and many other games do it...

__________________

bi ti ʤi ˈbulzaɪ
I don't suffer from insanity... I enjoy it.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map of Black Mesa Research Facility
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 2:15 am 
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 11:17 pm
Location: Shrapnel City
Reputation: -/+
BTGbullseye wrote:
Alyxx wrote:
I think that could be the future of FPS games.

That's the way World of Warcraft, Far Cry 2, The Elder Scrolls series, The Fallout series, and many other games do it...

Good point. :lol:

__________________

Beware the Accursed Queen
Alyxx' Game Room


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map of Black Mesa Research Facility
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 3:09 am 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 9:06 pm
Location: Maple Waffle, Butterberry Island
Reputation: -/+
With the cross-coordination of different areas, I have this far-flung idea that it could be done to make the teleportation sequence in Kleiner's Lab actually operate properly so that you teleport from d1_trainstation_05 to d1_lab_01. However it would require very careful sequence surgery in the Teleporter room on both levels as well as intense import work.

__________________

"You can only teach as far as you've walked." - A.W. Tozer


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map of Black Mesa Research Facility
PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2011 4:22 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 8:40 am
Location: The city of Innsmouth
Reputation: -/+
Wow, that's amazing. And why there's no exit on this map!? xP

__________________

JUST DO IT! DONT LET YOUR DREAMS BE DREAMS!


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map of Black Mesa Research Facility
PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2011 8:01 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 9:18 pm
Location: California
Reputation: -/+
Moved and Sticky'd.

Thought this might better give the viewers a better grasp of how ungodly far Freeman walks.


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map of Black Mesa Research Facility
PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2011 10:06 pm 

Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 7:53 am
Reputation: -/+
This needs a "you are here" X-mark to indicate where Ross is in the series. (: Seriously though this is pretty sweet nice work OP


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map of Black Mesa Research Facility
PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 2:36 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 6:02 am
Reputation: -/+
I wonder if you could do it the way Minecraft does it, load chunks of the map as you near it.

__________________

"Every time you carve, god kills a kitten."


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map of Black Mesa Research Facility
PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 2:40 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 2:24 pm
Location: On the farms, being accursed
Reputation: -/+
Counter-Strike wrote:
This needs a "you are here" X-mark to indicate where Ross is in the series. (: Seriously though this is pretty sweet nice work OP

Only problem is that is very very hard to see where he is on this map since everything is sooo small.

__________________

¯\_(ツ)_/¯


Top
  Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map of Black Mesa Research Facility
PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2011 3:19 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 2:24 pm
Location: On the farms, being accursed
Reputation: -/+
Ok, I tried, and this is where i think he is:
Image

__________________

¯\_(ツ)_/¯


Top
  Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 1 of 5   [ 100 posts ]
Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
twilightBB Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net